Tigres UANL to Defend Gordon Jago Super Group Title at 2020 Dallas Cup

Liga MX side will also participate in Univision Deportes Super 14s bracket

Tigres UANL to Defend Gordon Jago Super Group Title at 2020 Dallas Cup


DALLAS, Texas (Tuesday, Sep. 17) – The Dallas Cup, the oldest and most prestigious international youth soccer tournament in the United States, has announced that current back-to-back Gordon Jago Super Group champion Tigres will return to defend their title at Dallas Cup XLI next spring. The historic Mexican side looks to become the first team to win three consecutive Super Group titles since the elite bracket was formed in 1990.

This past April, Tigres hoisted the club’s fourth U19 Super Group “Boot and Ball” championship trophy, after defeating La Liga’s Villarreal CF in the final, 2-1, at Dallas Cup’s 40th Anniversary Tournament. In 2018, Tigres defeated the Premier League’s Arsenal FC, 1-0, in the title match. The Liga MX side, who has 15 Dallas Cup championships across all age groups, also claimed Super Group titles in 2003 and 2011.

The 2020 Dallas Cup marks the 30 year anniversary for the creation of the 19U Super Group.

Past Super Group Champions

2019 – Tigres (MEX)

2004 – Clube Atletico Paranaense (BRA)

2018 – Tigres (MEX)

2003 – Tigres (MEX)

2017 – FC Dallas (USA)

2002 – Nottingham Forest (ENG)

2016 – Everton FC (ENG)

2001 – UNAM Pumas (MEX)

2015 – Coritiba FC (BRA)

2000 – SC Corinthians (BRA)

2014 – River Plate (ARG)

1999 – SC Corinthians (BRA)

2013 – Fulham FC (ENG)

1998 – CA San Lorenzo (ARG)

2012 – Coritiba FC (BRA)

1997 – EC Vitoria (BRA)

2011 – Tigres (MEX)/Eintracht Frankfurt (GER)

1996 – EC Vitoria (BRA)

2010 – Cruzeiro Esporte Clube (BRA)

1995 – Sao Paulo FC (BRA)

2009 – Sao Paulo (BRA)

1994 -  Real Madrid (ESP)

2008 – Liverpool FC (ENG)

1993 – Real Madrid (ESP)

2007 – Sao Paulo (BRA)

1992 – West Ham United (ENG)

2006 – Dallas Texans Red (USA)

1991 – Moscow Dynamo (RUS)

2005 – Clube Atletico Paranaense (BRA)

1990 – Tahuichi (BOL)













Tigres is the second team announced for the 2020 Gordon Jago Super Group. They join current U18 Premier League champions Derby County FC in the elite bracket.

Tigres will also participate in the Univision Deportes Super 14s bracket at Dallas Cup XLI. Tigres won the inaugural Super 14s title in 2018 after a 2-1 win over Spain’s Real Oviedo. In 2019, Tigres reached the semi-finals of the elite 14U bracket, but fell short to LA United Futbol Academy in the elimination stage.

The 2020 Dallas Cup will be played April 5-12, 2020. Keep up to date with more news at www.dallascup.com and follow us on Twitter @dallascup.

dc logo

dc logo